04
Apr
10

Lock a version of a software

This is a very important thing to know if you like a particular version of a software. I’ll give you an example to clarify. The current version of Wine is 1.1.41. However most of the Windows programs I have dont run on it. I have found that another version 1.1.31 does the job pretty well. Now if you have installed Wine or have repositories of it enabled, you might unknowingly update your Wine to the latest version, and lose the functionality of it (which is true in my case). I gave the example with Wine, but this applies to any other application.

So, what do you do in such a situation? The answer is surprisingly simple. There is a function in Synaptic which allows you to ‘lock’ a particular version so that it doesnt update or stays ‘as is’.

Here’s how you ‘lock’ a version of any particular software. The screenshots given below has been done with respect to a particular software (Wine in this case), but the same procedure applies to everything else as well.

First up, go to System > Administration > Synaptic Package Manager. There, search for your software (in this case its Wine1.2), and select it.

Next, go to the Package option and select/click on Lock version:

After you have done that you will find that a small Lock sign appears next to the software name:

Thats pretty much it! You will now not be updated to a later version of the software unless you un-select the Lock version option.

Share/Bookmark

Advertisements

1 Response to “Lock a version of a software”


  1. April 4, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    That was a nice article there. I will try this version and see how good it is
    Keep the good work

    Paschal


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


ALERT!!!

ALERT! Explore-Ubuntu has moved.

New location of Explore Ubuntu (includes ALL old and brand new posts):

www.explore-ubuntu.blogspot.com

Technology Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory


%d bloggers like this: